Surratt House Museum

Located at 9118 Brandywine Rd, Clinton, MD 20735. The Surratt House Museum is a historic building that is tied to the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Previously known as a tavern, the house served as a polling place and as a safe house for the Confederate underground during the Civil War. It is also the home of Mary Surratt, a woman who was accused of conspiring to assassinate President Lincoln.

The Surratt house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is open to the public. It is located at 9110 Brandywine Road in Clinton. The museum offers a self guided tour of the historic structure. There are also several educational programs available to the public. In addition, the museum owns images and objects that were related to the assassination. The museum also focuses on the experience of enslaved people on the property. Learn More

The house was once a part of a 300-acre plantation. John and Mary Surratt had the house built in 1852. In 1865, they were found guilty of conspiring to assassinate Abraham Lincoln. They were hanged for their involvement in the plot.

The house was purchased by the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission in 1965. In 1973, it was added to the National Register of Historic Places. It is now a museum, which was opened in 1976. The house is also a research center, where costumed docents guide visitors through the house and talk about life in mid-19th century Prince George’s County. There are also exhibits about the assassination of Abraham Lincoln, Mary Surratt and the conspirators.

The museum has a gift shop. There are also signs guiding visitors to other sites related to the Lincoln assassination. Among these sites are Dr. Samuel Mudd’s House Museum, located a short distance away.

Throughout the house, visitors will see original furnishings that have been used by the Surratt family. There are also items that have been discarded or changed hands over time. The house was damaged in a fire in 1939. It has since undergone extensive renovations and is now open to the public. The house was also added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

Visitors can take tours of the house, where John Wilkes Booth and Mary Surratt slept. They can also visit the tavern, where the conspirators drank. There is also a wall where Booth hid his rifles. Visitors can also trace Booth’s escape route.

The house is also the site of a number of apparitions. There have been reports of men’s apparitions, muffled voices and other ghostly activities. There has also been an apparition spotted floating in the staircase. More About Clearwater Nature Center

The house has been restored, and it was added to the National Register of Historic Sites in 1973. There are signs at the front of the house and on the lawn. There is also a game of mini-bowling on the lawn. The house is 7.3 miles from the downtown area of Clinton. There is a visitor center next door, which contains additional Surratt family items.