Lee-Fendall House Museum and Garden

Located at 614 Oronoco St, Alexandria, VA 22314. In the Historic District of Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, the Lee-Fendall House Museum and Garden is a unique historic venue. It was originally built in 1785 by Philip Richard Fendall. The house is now a museum, and its history tells the story of the Fendall and Lee families and the development of the region after the American Revolution. The furnishings at the house include a stunning collection of Lee heirlooms and furnishings.

In the 19th century, the Fendall-Lee family was a driving force in the region’s growth. The Lee-Fendall House is one of the oldest extant homes in Alexandria. The house was built in a vernacular “telescopic style” architecture. The house was renovated in 1850, adding Greek Revival and Italianate elements. It served as a hospital for the Union Army during the Civil War. During this time, Lee-Fendall House was home to hundreds of convalescing Union soldiers. Check this out

Lee-Fendall House was a home for the Lee and Fendall families until the early 1900s. The property was also home to enslaved workers and free African Americans. The house served as a Union hospital during the Civil War, and its garden was used as an educational space for the surrounding community. During the COVID-19 pandemic, the garden was open to the public.

The house was originally owned by Henry “Light Horse Harry” Lee, the father of Confederate general Robert E. Lee. The Lee family lived in the house for almost a century, and it is now a historic house museum. The family lived in the house from 1785 to 1903. The house was then occupied by the Alexandria Downham family from 1903 to 1937, and later by the John L. Lewis family from 1937 to 1969.

The house is open for tours. Admission costs $10 for adults and $5 for children (5-17). Tickets must be reserved in advance. Visitors can also participate in seasonal crafts and workshops. Those interested in learning more about the house can contact the museum to request more information.

A historic wall collapse at Lee-Fendall House has prompted the museum to launch a fundraiser. A 70-foot segment of the original wall collapsed, leaving rubble. A team of subject matter experts have been assembled to develop a repair plan. The museum plans to use the original bricks in the rebuild. It will also work with the Alexandria Board of Architectural Review and local historic masonry firms. Continue reading Gadsby’s Tavern Museum

The repairs will be estimated at over $125,000. The museum plans to begin small portions of the project, as funding becomes available. The museum’s staff has expressed concern about the state of the wall. It is unclear when the repairs will be completed.

Lee-Fendall House is open to the public for tours. A guided tour will be held every half hour. Visitors can also take tours of the garden, which is open to the public without museum admission. There are also workshops scheduled on December 4 and 11. Tickets are $10 for adults, and $5 for children. The workshops will be held outdoors and will include all materials.